While interest in spectrum sharing has grown substantially in recent years, spectrum access has become more challenged. This is a key message being discussed during the Dynamic Spectrum Alliance (DSA) Global Summit 2018 in London.

During a panel titled ‘Is Technology the Best Manager of Spectrum?’ representatives from Ofcom, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), DTG, European Commission, ATDI, LS Telecom and Weightless SIG discussed how the traditional model of spectrum management, based primarily around exclusive access to spectrum or static sharing arrangements, risked being both limited and wasteful.

Databases with information to drive more efficient use of spectrum through understanding where and how spectrum is used were discussed to understand the challenges that governments face in utilizing these new systems and spectrum management tools.

William Webb, CEO of Weightless SIG – who moderated the panel – commented: “Spectrum sharing methods have been known for decades and regulatory bodies have professed their support for many years. Yet concepts like dynamic database access have actual use in only a handful of countries. There are various impediments often in the form of incumbents keen to maintain the status quo and risk-averse regulators.”

“It is important to explore how we overcome these and realise the benefits that shared spectrum access clearly has to offer,” added Webb.


The Dynamic Spectrum Alliance Award winners have also been announced, recognising the efforts of individuals in furthering innovation, increasing inclusion and pursuing new opportunities in dynamic spectrum access. The winners included:

Dr. Salomão David Sumbula, Head of the Office of Studies, Market Regulation and Development, Instituto Nacional das Comunicações de Moçambique (Innovation in Dynamic Spectrum Access Policies)
Mr. Willington Ngwepe, CEO, Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (Innovation in Dynamic Spectrum Access Policies)
Mr. Allen Tuladhar, CEO, Picosoft (Increasing Digital Inclusion)
Mr. Mario Cerutti, Green Coffee Corporate Relations Director, Lavazza (Internet of Things Innovation)
Mr. Julius Knapp, Chief, Office of Engineering and Technology, Federal Communications Commission (Lifetime Achievement Award)
Dr. Edward Knightly, Department Chair, Rice University Wireless Network Group (Student-led Initiative or Research on New Opportunities for Dynamic Spectrum Access)

“This year’s Dynamic Spectrum Alliance Award winners highlight the tremendous amount of progress that is being made in the industry and the winner’s stories provide proof that various spectrum sharing regulatory regimes across a variety of complementary spectrum bands can be coordinated to lower the cost of broadband,” said DSA president Kalppak Gude. “This type of activity allows 5G and Internet of Things deployments across the globe and will help to connect the remaining 4 billion people who remain without Internet access.”